Cold Facts (1983)

Cold Facts album cover art

Click white triangle to play song. If the audio player does not work in your browser, try the standard MP3 link.
1. John Wayne   (2:23)     MP3   lyrics chords
2. Way It Is   (2:17)     MP3   lyrics chords
3. Master of Time and Space   (3:49)     MP3   lyrics chords
4. Husbands   (2:54)     MP3   lyrics chords
5. Reflecting Mask   (2:24)     MP3   lyrics chords
6. Sanity   (4:41)     MP3   lyrics chords
7. Angeline   (2:44)     MP3   lyrics chords
8. Mansworld   (2:13)     MP3   lyrics chords
9. You Need A Villain (solo version)   (3:34)     MP3   lyrics chords
10. John Wayne [live, 4/27/87]   (2:19)     MP3   lyrics chords
11. Comin' Back Home   (4:38)     MP3   lyrics chords
12. Way It Is   [solo demo]   (0:00)     MP3   lyrics chords
13. Millions   (3:40)     MP3   lyrics chords
14. Dusk [instrumental]   (2:48)     MP3  
15. Hurry Up, Liza [live, 5/28/1983]   (3:00)
(based on "Lil' Liza Jane")
    MP3   lyrics chords

Total time:   46:44


# title musicians / singers
1. John Wayne EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
This song was my reaction to John Wayne's book America: Why I Love Her.
2. Way It Is EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
In Betty Friedan's famous famous book The Feminine Mystique, she talked about "functionalism," the belief that - as I say in chorus of my song - the way it is is how it's meant to be. This philosophy has long been used by social conservatives to keep women in their place, and now it's a common argument against gay marriage.
3. Master of Time and Space EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
4. Husbands EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
5. Reflecting Mask EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
6. Sanity EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
7. Angeline EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
"Angeline" had nothing to do with L.A. billboard queen Angelyne, who I'd never heard of until I moved to California seven years later. The original inspiration was Groucho Marx's girlfriend Erin Fleming, who I felt was being unfairly deprived of the money that Groucho left her in his will.
8. Mansworld EARL: vocal, guitar, keyboard bass, drum machine
9. You Need A Villain EARL: vocal, guitar
There was a bar in downtown Baton Rouge called The Industry, where they used to have punk and New Wave bands. I even played there myself a few times. And outside on the sidewalk, there would be these religious nuts waving Bibles at the clientel and warning of eternal damnation. I believe the ringleader was Rev. David Diamond, trying to make a name for himself. (Based on the few results that a Web search turns up, he never succeeded.) Leaders using "enemies" - real or imagined - to advance their own agendas is something that Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn talked about in his books. A more fully produced recording of this song can be found on Holiday On Mars (1987).
10. John Wayne [live] Electric Earl & the Electrons at The Bayou in Baton Rouge, featuring:
    EARL: vocal, guitar
    "JOHNNY" WELLS: lead guitar
    JAMES FOGLE: drums
Band member Meredith Chinn did not play on this song. This is a mono recording from the P.A. mix by Pete Bryan.
11. Comin' Back Home EARL: vocal, guitar
12. Way It Is [solo demo] EARL: vocal, guitar
13. Millions EARL: vocal, guitar
14. Dusk EARL: guitar
15. Hurry Up, Liza EARL: vocal, guitar
This performance was recorded at FestForAll in downtown Baton Rouge.
Engineered and mixed by Electric Earl.
Recording dates: November 10-11, 1983 (track #1-9), 4/27/1987 (track #10), 4/17/1983 (track #11-14), 5/28/1983 (track #15)

The original cassette version of this album had track #1-5 on side one, and #6-9 on side two.

In 1983 I started using the stage name Electric Earl for my live shows. However, I continued to use my full legal on recordings for several more years.

The working title for this album was Hold the Phone, after the catch-phrase made famous by "Amos 'n' Andy." But I dropped that idea because I couldn't find any interesting graphics for that theme. At the time I was reading a lot about Eskimos, and decided to use that visual concept instead, with the double-meaning Cold Facts as the title.

All words and music by Earl P. Reinhalter, except "Hurry Up, Liza" is based on "Lil' Liza Jane."



This page established: March 8, 2009
Last updated: February 22, 2024

Web page design © 2009-2024 Earl P. Reinhalter. All Rights Reserved.