Time Bomb Kid (1981)

Time Bomb Kid album cover art

Click white triangle to play song. If the audio player does not work in your browser, try the standard MP3 link.
1. Harvest   (3:01)     MP3   lyrics chords
2. Here We Are   (3:04)     MP3   lyrics chords
3. Johnny's Song   (2:29)     MP3   lyrics chords
4. Deadly Cell   (2:26)     MP3   lyrics chords
5. All I Can Give Is Me   (3:17)     MP3   lyrics chords
6. It's Not Over [early version]   (3:03)     MP3   lyrics chords
7. You Don't Have to Ask   (3:00)     MP3   lyrics chords
8. Appreciate Me   (3:35)     MP3   lyrics chords
9. Wall Sweats   (2:01)     MP3   lyrics chords
10. The Ring   (2:45)     MP3   lyrics chords
11. Oh! Bettye Jean   (2:24)     MP3   lyrics chords
12. Trickle Down   (3:18)     MP3   lyrics chords
13. Smiling At Me   (3:55)     MP3   lyrics chords
14. Two Separate Individuals   (3:43)     MP3   lyrics chords
15. Friends You Used to Know   (2:45)     MP3   lyrics chords

Total time:   45:24


Featuring Electric Earl on vocals and guitar. The guitar and lead vocals were recorded live to 2-track, then bass and harmony vocals were added during transfer to a second tape deck.

Engineered by Electric Earl.

Recording dates: 12/20/1981 (track #1-14), 8/16/1982 (track #15)

The original cassette version of this album had track #1-7 on side one, and #8-14 on side two.

There were two slightly different covers for this album. The version that I gave to friends and relatives for Christmas was printed on blue paper. The post-holiday "production" copies were printed on goldenrod stock (as shown above).

"Johnny's Song" also appeared on my next album, Cargo Cult (1982). Back in the days when I was mostly performing cover material, this was the first original song of mine that audiences really liked. And so I stuck it on the next tape that I was selling to fans at my shows. Johnny was my girlfriend's 5-year-old son. Besides inspiring this song, which was about the time we went flying kites on the LSU parade grounds, a few years later he loaned me the Magnus toy organ that I played on We're Not Strangers (1985). The second verse, which talks about "flying your space machine," refers to a Star Wars toy he had.

"It's Not Over" was later recorded with a new arrangement, and that can also be found on Cargo Cult.

All words and music by Earl P. Reinhalter.



This page established: March 8, 2009
Last updated: February 22, 2024

Web page design © 2010-2024 Earl P. Reinhalter. All Rights Reserved.