Green Album (1984)

Green Album album cover art

Click white triangle to play song. If the audio player does not work in your browser, try the standard MP3 link.
1. Nuclear Winter   (2:18)     MP3   lyrics chords
2. Forest   (2:35)     MP3   lyrics chords
3. Here   (1:46)     MP3   lyrics chords   sheet music
4. Guy Guy Guy Guy   (3:24)     MP3   lyrics chords
5. Where's Mine?   (3:48)     MP3   lyrics chords
6. Dress For Failure   (2:19)     MP3   lyrics chords
7. Opening Ceremony [instrumental]   (1:09)     MP3   lead sheet
8. Just This Year   (3:58)     MP3   lyrics chords
9. Collecting   (3:44)     MP3   lyrics chords
10. Brand New Start   (3:59)     MP3   lyrics chords
11. I Realized   (2:38)     MP3   lyrics chords
12. Diane   (3:00)     MP3   lyrics chords
13. Proud To Be Your Friend   (3:44)     MP3   lyrics chords
14. You Came Along At the Right Time   (3:35)     MP3   lyrics chords

Total time:   42:32


# title musicians / singers
1. Nuclear Winter EARL: vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica
2. Forest EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, cowbell
3. Here EARL: vocal, guitars, bass
4. Guy Guy Guy Guy EARL: vocal, guitar, bass
5. Where's Mine? EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, maracas, cowbell
6. Dress For Failure EARL: vocals, guitar, bass
7. Opening Ceremony EARL: guitars, bass, guitar case ("tom-tom")
Conceived as a theme for a TV sports show, the title no doubt inspired by the Olympics. One of several songs I've written in 5/4 time.
8. Just This Year EARL: vocal, guitars, bass, maracas
The lyrics were based on a true story related to me by James Stansbury.
9. Collecting EARL: vocal, guitars, bass, cowbell
10. Brand New Start EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, tambourine
11. I Realized EARL: vocal, guitar, bass, drum machine
12. Diane EARL: vocals, guitars, bass
13. Proud To Be Your Friend EARL: vocal, guitars, bass
14. You Came Along At the Right Time EARL: vocals, guitar, bass, maracas
This song was conceived for three voice parts, backed by guitar and bass. How to fit these five elements on a 4-channel tape was a technical problem. What I did was I put just the voices and guitar on the 4-channel tape, and then I played the bass live during mixdown. Notice that later in the song, the bass playing gets simpler where the mix required me to fade the levels and add echo!
Engineered and mixed by Electric Earl.

Tracks #1-13 were recorded in December 1984. Preliminary copies of the Green Album containing those 13 songs were sent out as Christmas presents. Because of the tight deadline, there was no time to create fancy packaging for this release. Labels were handwritten with a black marking pen, and the white area tinted using a green highlighter. The cassette was sent out in a standard clear plastic case.

Recording was completed for "You Came Along At the Right Time" on 1/13/1985, and that song was added to the end of side two for all subsequent copies of the album.

This project is notable for being my first time using 12-string acoustic guitar on a recording. I had borrowed it from a guy named Bruce Johnston (not the famous Bruce Johnston who was in the Beach Boys and composed "I Write the Songs"). He was a Leo Kottke fan, and had bought this particular guitar because it was the same model that Kottke played. Having heard Bruce play at open mikes, I knew the 12-string would sound great on slow songs like "Here" and "Just This Year." I returned the guitar after recording the initial 13 songs. Notice that "You Came Along At the Right Time" was played on 6-string. Later, Bruce decided that he was more interested in computers than music (he was ahead of his time!) and he offered to sell me the 12-string. I've been playing it ever since.

Although I had been billing myself as Electric Earl for my live shows since the previous year, I didn't release any recordings under that name until 1986.

The original cassette version of this album had track #1-8 on side one, and #9-14 on side two.

All words and music by Earl P. Reinhalter.



This page established: March 8, 2009
Last updated: February 22, 2024

Web page design © 2009-2024 Earl P. Reinhalter. All Rights Reserved.